Fixing windows…

…is not something I do very often, but today I had to re-glaze a couple of windows in my studio. Must be easy, I thought…. how hard can it be? So with putty in my hands I started  to fix the glass into the metal frames….but it seems that there is a skill and technique in manually getting the putty from the palm of your hands and through your sticky fingers, then into the angle of the frame and glass! Squeeze, roll, push….and it falls out! Push a bit harder…ok, now it’s sticking in place but it’s not even all round….add a bit more here and there….look for a putty knife (who has one of those lying about?) to smooth it….well, it doesn’t do smooth does it! More kind of up and down and rippled…

This set me to thinking about why people think that they can just pick up a camera and achieve professional results. Sure, it looks easy when a pro picks up the camera and just snaps away and gets lovely shots from the most unpromising subject. Like the glazier with his putty…it LOOKS easy because he has had years of learning his skills with all sorts of window frames and types of glass. I learned my craft with thousands of hours of photography with all sorts of people and scenes, so I know what I want to achieve before I start. It’s not always as easy as my shoot yesterday with the lovely Kitty Golder (pic below) I “work” at getting great photographs for my clients…and I know that they won’t be all “up and down and rippled” like my putty!

A studio head shot...

A studio head shot…

About Bob

I am a professional photographer working from a studio in Wellingborough, Northamptonshire. I have had several books published in the last five years and am always pleased to offer photographic services for weddings, family or business portraits or any other photographic assignments
This entry was posted in kids, model portfolios, Northamptonshire, studio photography, studio portraits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

