Speechless….

…is not how I am very often, but today that was just how I felt. I was sitting by the open doors of my studio as it is warm and dry outside, when I hear a couple discussing a photograph that is clearly visible from the path outside…they seem to be liking the photo, I thought…the next thing I hear is the distinctive whirr of a shutter sound generated by a smart phone….! They had taken a photo of my photo!!! 

Yesterday a man bounced into the studio, full of life and clearly very pleased with himself…can you print a picture for me?,he asked….well, it depends, say I…so he shows me the photo on his Iphone and wondered if I could make a canvas print about 90 x 60cm for him….the photo was an iconic one of Keith Moon and Oliver Reed, taken on the set of Tommy….by Johnny Dewe Mathews….where did you take this?, I asked him. He said he had been in Brighton and liked the picture in a gallery, so photographed it…..after I explained that I wouldn’t touch the photo and that he should search for the print and buy a copy, he said he would “go to Boots” as they will print it for him, they have done so “loads of times”….

When are the public going to realise that this is theft? I tried to explain that as I really liked his T-Shirt, he wouldn’t mind me taking it off his back and using it myself…seemd lost on him sadly….

About Bob

I am a professional photographer working from a studio in Wellingborough, Northamptonshire. I have had several books published in the last five years and am always pleased to offer photographic services for weddings, family or business portraits or any other photographic assignments
This entry was posted in Northamptonshire. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

